10 thoughts on “Pic du Jour #46: It’s a Jeep Thing!

      • My daughter is hell on wheels in Venice, and so was oldest granddaughter in her orange convertible Jeep sold because she’s now in Army basic, where, what? Maybe she’ll get another Jeep!! Cousin Freddie in Ocean Springs MS is a Jeep restorer, repairer, and does some of the crazy competitions, too. I got so far as test driving a Cherokee, and after two miles got told by husband and daughter that I’d be way too dangerous in one!! Hah! And I was being very conservative with them in the car. Great fun, but I agree that lots of other cars are a lot safer. As I remember, Huss had one when I visited in Mt. Dora, so maybe he’s still hopeful, age or not, as well all of us should be. We’re the cooool old folks, don’t forget!

        Like

  1. I had a ’90 Jeep Wrangler, red & convertable of course, about 6 years ago, and it was simultaneously fabulous, scary, and a lot of work. Nothing went wrong for three years then everything went wrong, because chiefly I think of some really bad mechanics who started a downhill trend. Once it’s out of sinc it’s all over. Finally, after nearly dying in it on south HIghway 1, I gave it to a mechanic for parts. But man it had been fun to drive. Like being on safari or a Navy SEAL, or astronaut, and the illusion you could go anywhere— but couldn’t. A friend showed me home movies once of rock climbing jeeps like your photograph, absolutely100% off road, going up dry creek bed boulders in Nevada. It is a cult, you’re right. This extraordinary bar scene of yours will be loved by many.

    Like

Leave a Reply

