Urban Thursday #13: “Glass Bricks”

Remember when you got your first apartment how groovy it was to slap together a bookcase out of planks and glass bricks? And when you spray painted the wood you invariably spilled some on the shag carpet?

This visually interesting sidewalk entrance to a downtown St. Pete office building reminded me of my ‘glass brick’ days back in the 60s – okay, maybe occasionally in the 70s too.

🙂 🙂 🙂

glass-bricks20150203_6449-as-smart-object-1

No, I’m NOT going to ‘fess up about planters and room dividers made out of wooden crates, ‘ready-mades’ constructed out of found objects, VW vans with 8-track cassette players, or granny glasses, bell bottoms and love beads.

🙂 🙂 🙂

Urban Thursday

– a Thursday sampling of downtown buildings & city landscapes –

6 thoughts on “Urban Thursday #13: “Glass Bricks”

  1. So funny you mentioned this & love the photo as I need a wall of diy bookcases for my books in my new place in St Simons and was just faintly remembering this very thing!! Great idea 👏🏾 I have noticed that they are being used in a lot of new buildings in south fla. Kay Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

