A 500mm lens is a must-have for wildlife photography, but I have long resisted because such a heavy piece of equipment requires a bulky tripod and I haven’t the patience to fiddle with such things.

Until now. Nikon has recently come out with a quality 500mm lens specifically designed to be hand-held. It’s not for the frail, weighing in at 5 lbs., but manageable.

Two things I am looking for as I test out a new lens = (1) how fast it picks up and focuses on subjects speeding across the sky, and (2) how sharp the images are.

I couldn’t believe my luck when I saw two juvenile eagles sitting on rocks about 200 yards from shore this morning.

eagle20160417_9233-1

One of them hopped around a bit, after a fish the other had dropped in a crevice.

eagle20160417_9276-1

I alternately stood and sat for 45 minutes with camera and lens held up to my eye waiting for the eagles to fly. Liftoff would be a perfect picture. The camera got heavy, my arms got tired, and my fingers began to cramp.

An osprey took a dip nearby in the water and I interrupted my vigil to fire off some quick shots.

osprey20160417_9384-1

OSPREY20160417_9382-1

A pelican dropped in fairly close to the eagles.

pelican20160417_9400-1

Then a damn helicopter buzzed overhead and spooked the eagles as I was looking in the wrong direction! All my patience was for naught.

helicopter20160417_9404-1

Tzuri, fortunately, was a more willing subject.

tzuri20160416_9152-1-Edit

All in all, I’m thinkin’ this new lens is a keeper.

🙂🙂🙂

10 thoughts on “Osprey, Pelican, Two Eagles & a Dog

  1. Really astonishing to see these incredible birds, I don’t get what you missed because of the ‘copter. I mean, this is pretty special stuff. All of it. What a thrill and treat, imagine living so close, lucky (smart guy.) I love seeing Tzuri in the mix, thanks from her fan. And congratulations on the marvelous new equipment. I know what it feels like to expand the tools of the trade.

    Like

    • I had my camera poised for nearly an hour ready to snap a picture of the eagles in motion as they lifted off to fly. I diverted my attention just a second to the helicopter and while looking away the eagles left. Missed the shot after all that wait with a heavy camera that severely strained my arms. Frustrating, but not unusual in the world of photography.🙂

      Thanks, Barbara.

      Like

  2. Ha, ha!! Wonderful, Wonderful shots!!
    Also, constantly trying to decide between new version of Canon 100-400 lens with 2x converter or Canon 600mm.
    But I know I won’t use a tripod, so leaning toward to less exspensive route for now😦

    Like

  3. Fabulous shots! Amazing to see them up so close. Wish you could come over to Texas and photograph a hawk’s nest with 3 baby hawks. With my little camera, I can barely get a shot that shows the nest let alone the babies sitting on the edge of the nest and the parents coming to feed them. Thanks for these!

    Like

Leave a Reply

