I know you were expecting a report card but for an Independent Study project I hopped a train and have been riding the rails for the past several months.

train

It’s a great education, living by the seat of your pants.  I hooked up with a foxy gypsy chic who has taught me some priceless skills: grifts, bunkos, gaffles.

I’m just a shill right now, an apprentice, but will receive my certificate as a full-fledged bamboozle artist as soon as I pass my final scam.

Don’t worry, when not on the lam I found a great place to live. Top left, room with a view.

house

BTW, please send next semester’s tuition as soon as possible so I can graduate.

🙂 🙂 🙂

Barbra Streisand, Flim Flam Man

7 thoughts on “Dear Mom,

      • My first and only year (a little short of a year) at Goddard was like that but I don’t remember questioning it or thinking I was pulling something off. Leaving home was an open meadow of experiment. Loose living, something like the benefit of being in a really bizarre, horrible motel the first time, is an important passage of youth. In a way, the rest of a life is figuring out how not to make that the norm.

        Like

        • “Open meadow of experiment” is a nice metaphor, and the bizarre hotel really nails down the experience. I’m hoping before I get squashed by a semi- or tumble off a cliff to read your autobiography. Oh, wait – you haven’t written it yet. 😦

          Like

Leave a Reply

