I’m grading mid-term essays right now. What a bummer!

I provide students with several topics to choose from, including this one:

The Book of Job asks why bad things happen to good people. He doesn’t receive a direct answer other than that divine wisdom is beyond human comprehension. How might you answer a little child who wants to know why innocent people have to suffer?

I was grading on auto-pilot, having at one time or another seen just about every conceivable answer to this question. Until I got to this response, which really made my day!

So if a child came up to me and asked me why innocent people have to suffer, I would tell the child that everything happens for a reason. Even though some things that happen are absolutely horrible, you need to take all of the bad things and just put them aside and remember all of the good things that you can put into that situation. For instance, I used to always get really depressed especially for my pacemaker surgery when I was only 12 years of age, and I would ask my parents why I was stuck with my heart problems and they would always tell me that everything will get better soon. It may have taken me a few years after that to realize that everything does happen for a reason! If I did not get so sick and depressed, I would have never met my horse and my fiancé.

Any suggestions as to what comment I should put on this girl’s paper?

😀 😀 😀

9 thoughts on “The Horse & The Fiancé

  1. It’s a marvelous opening for her story, with the good bits and pieces that encourage readers to wanting more. Was there more? Was it limited to this number of words. I might start the next paragraph, after her splendid intro written in an original way, with the origins of what she’s hinted at and develop it. She’s got a splendid attitude toward life, by the way. And great parents to have guided her toward it. I, for one, am thrilled to hear from people who treat infirmities as secondary to the business of living.
    Your picture with it is fabuloso.

    Like

    • Yes, there was more, this is only a snippet. She went into more detail about being born with right & left ventricles being reversed, or something to that effect. Thanks…

      Like

  2. Did her fiancé come riding in on a horse?…this is the path that heals us–from the valley we look up and have a clear view of the mountain that beckons.

    Like

  3. I can’t explain WHY, but this very nearly has me literally falling off my chair laughing. Then again I always admired my husband for his upbeat attitude when a spinal injury left him a quadriplegic for 19 years. One thing I know is that he could have made both his life miserable along with everyone around him, but he managed to stay pretty positive for the most part. I suppose ours is not to question why, but to grin or die (perhaps both literally and figuratively.)

    Then again, I think Job was an idiot. 😀

    Like

    • I had the same reaction, laughing my butt off! I knew as soon as I read it that I would post it, but then soon as I did, I began to second-guess myself and wonder if anyone else would see the humor. Nor can I adequately explain why, either. Maybe it has to do with putting a horse and a spouse on equal terms. 😀

      Yes, an upbeat attitude in the face of adversity is hard to come by and much to be admired. I’m not sure how I would fare with a major problem to overcome.

      Like

Leave a Reply

