geo hayes 1940sMy father loved to fly.

As a flight instructor he was once up with a student when part of the propeller fell off.

He took over the controls, found an orange grove, and managed to bounce “softly” from tree to tree.

Both walked away from the crash.

He signed and dated a piece of the wrecked plane.

plane memento

With such genetics I should have followed in his wings, right?

Actually, I toyed with the idea.  Even tried (in 1967) to join the Air Force (mostly to stay out of the Army) but they said because I wore glasses I would never sit in the front seat of a fighter jet.

Then there was the other problem: the Dream.  I kept seeing myself on my maiden voyage and the view was always upside down, like this…

stunt plane

Then again…

What if I pulled out of a dive at the last minute to the applause of thousands and didn’t end up in a body bag after all?

stunt plane

Still time, do you think, for me to take flying lessons?

🙂 🙂 🙂

17 thoughts on “I Wanna Be a Flyboy When I Grow Up, Maybe…

  1. Ooops … Be glad of several things:

    1) Your parents did not name you “George.” John suits you and you wear it well.

    2) You soar every time you express yourself to those of us who follow your blog, enjoy your words and bask in the beauty of your photography.

    3) You dare to be different and to live on the edge of adventure, exploration and experiencing your life.

    4) You continue to touch many fellow humans, and though you may not touch the millions of our Cultural Mega Heroes, you will have lived a life of connection – on your own terms. Take time to think about the hundreds who have been exposed to your thoughts, listened to your ideas, and walked away influenced – and you never knew it but inside, you do know it.

    5) You are John Hayes … a mere mortal who has moved outside the comfort of his own skin and dared to speak, show and share. You suit-up and show-up.

    6) If you really get the urge, sit in the back seat of an open two-seater and be an “almost pilot” – a “near pilot” – spread your arms, close your eyes, listen to the wind roar in your ears and rip through your hair. And lastly,

    7) Land having enjoyed the ride and accept yourself and be kind to yourself.

    HUSS

    Richard Huss Editor, Pulse the Magazine

    http://www.pulsethemagazine.com http://www.RichardHuss.com

    Cell: 203-209-6628

    _____

    Like

    • Aw shucks, Richard – You mean in this digital age I have to settle for being a ‘virtual’ pilot? I suppose I better get my order in to Santa for some video games ASAP.

      BTW: Can I hire you to be my publicist? 🙂

      BTW2: With the demise of Pulse, why not think about a WordPress site. It would never be as slick as your creation but they do have themes “optimized” for the magazine look.

      Like

  2. Hoorah and hoorah to everything so gorgeously said by Richard Huss!!! Entirely true, John. Your effect is enormous, by example of your riveting life and work.
    I think I painted that. And you look much like your dad. Wow, every kid’s dream, a dad for a pilot.
    And yes, RH, keep PULSE going on a blog at least.

    Like

Leave a Reply

