Inquisitive & Intelligent

German Shepherd Dog

Loyal & Obedient

German Shepherd Dog

Playful & Fun-Loving

German Shepherd Dog

Eager to Please

German Shepherd Dog

The Life of the Party

German Shepherd Dog

Bosom Buddy

German Shepherd Dog

🙂🙂🙂🙂🙂🙂

Watching this dynamic duo train & play at a local park I couldn’t help but remember my own German Shepherd Dog, Jessica.

jessica at frenchman's creekI named her after the little girl next door whose father was shot down over North Vietnam on the very day his daughter was born.

Jessica’s sire was the #1 German Shepherd Dog in the United States in 1969, Grand Victor Ch. Arno von der Kurpfalzhalle, SchH III.

Jessica's sire G.Victor Arno 1969I trained Jessica in three languages: English, German, and hand signals. At the time I was involved with a local Schutzhund training club. We met each Saturday morning in a vacant field next to the Burbank Airport. I was the kid in the padded suit foolishly playing the role of “agitator”.

I don’t have very many pictures from back then. But here’s a short slideshow spliced together from some faded images I recently discovered in an old shoebox.

Jessica was my constant companion. We roamed the country from coast to coast in my little orange VW. She lived to be almost 13 years old. When the time came I chose to have her put to sleep on my birthday.

JessicaJessica: February, 1972 – December, 1984

9 thoughts on “No Greater Love

  1. I really liked this post. The photos and commentary are great and though I still have dogs in my home, this post reminded me of one of my best friends, a mutt that I saved from euthanasia as a pup.

    My Beltrami was so tuned to me that even when I was 5 minutes away in a car, she would go to the front door and start barking and wagging her tail. Do dogs have ESP? I think some do.

    I know this is a cliche, but dog spelled backward is….

    I have really enjoyed the posts on God. Excellent questions and points raised. I always look forward to your posts.

    Like

  2. Lovely tribute to Jessica! I loved the pictures of her with the orange VW in the background! That says it all … your faithful travel companion on the road of life through thick and thin. I think dogs are with us in those moments that seem insignificant at the time, when you’re not really doing anything … but in retrospect those are the moments that count the most. Nice to see those officers playing with their four-legged colleague. Jessica was a beauty, and that last picture by the water really shows her off.

    Like

    • Thanks, Claudia. I know that you have recently lost a great friend in Sadie. In that regard it’s funny that Jessica seems as much with me now as she was 40 years ago. A friend that much a part of you never dies.

      Like

  3. Moved to tears. You’ve had the best with her. And of course too, the best yet to come differently, but again, with these most precious friends who live so briefly in our arms then for eternity in our hearts. Jessica is very beautiful. I’m glad I met her here.

    Like

  4. Oops, she may be gone, but now she will forever be in two people’s memory. She was absolutely wonderful, and I recognized Frenchman’s Creek! Mamma had one a lot like her, and we called Smutch (rhymes with Butch) a Black Alsatian because she had a black back. I have a pix of her with ten pups and me in the middle taken when I was 18 mos. old, and I actually can just barely remember her, smell and feel more than sight, though. German Shepherds are just so special, and Jessica was spectacular! Thanks so much for sharing her with us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

