Tags

, , , , , , ,

I have been privileged to stay here in the vicinity of Yellowstone for a month now, and can’t for the life of me think of any reason for leaving just yet.

:) :) :)

black bearblack bear cubsblack bear cubbull elkdeerblack bear scratching against tree :) :) :)

As an amateur wildlife photographer it is no secret that to my way of thinking, bigger & badder is better.

Grizzlies, of course, are several notches higher than Black Bears on the photographer’s Richter Scale, but also much more difficult and dangerous to get close to.  (They aren’t officially labeled Ursus arctos horribilis for nothing!  Read Scott McMillion’s Mark of the Grizzly if you want a truly riveting-but-horrifying Stephen-King like tale of real-life encounters with Grizzlies.)  At least here in the lower 48 states.  In Alaska, Brown Bears/Kodiak Bears/Grizzly Bears are relatively more habituated to humans and often totally focused (in season) on snatching salmon.

Which makes for a photographer’s paradise.  But because I still teach online 12 months/year, a strong reliable Internet connection is an absolute must.  So, at least for the nonce, fascinating remote-access creatures like the Alaskan Brown Bear and the African lion are out of reach for me.

Until then I can only content myself with screen savers on my computer of the biggest and the baddest I can snap pictures of in captivity :)

Tucson TigerTucson Lioness

Tucson polar bear

Tucson Mountain LionOkay… Bigger may be badder but sometimes smaller is cuter!

Tucson Lion cub :) :) :)